UK. Built from what each supplier publishes on its own site
Compare UK food safety and HACCP software
Eight products that UK food businesses actually buy, compared on the six things this niche turns on: digital temperature logging and probe integration, HACCP or Safer Food Better Business plan support, allergen management, traceability, audit and environmental health evidence, and price. Two of the eight publish a price. This table records what each supplier stated on its own page on 15 August 2026, and says plainly where a supplier stated nothing.
| Option | supplier's own page, 15 Aug 2026 | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trail Multi-site hospitality that wants a published per-site price | Team £38 per site per month, or £32 billed yearly. Standard £75, or £65 yearly. Trail Evo £82.50, or £71.50 yearly. Enterprise is custom pricing. Trail states it invoices in pounds for the UK | Not described on the pricing page. Trail's use-cases page publishes fridge and freezer, hot food and cellar temperature log sheets, and its integrations page describes automatically logging fridge and freezer temperatures from labl.it in-situ sensors | The pricing page lists a task library, custom tasks, record logs and secure records, and says tasks can be added "from team health checks to food safety logs". It does not describe an SFBB pack or a HACCP plan builder | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | Custom audits on every tier; reporting dashboards, customisable reports and email digests from Standard upwards; task history and secure records on the entry tier |
| FoodDocs Getting a written HACCP plan and allergen list in place quickly | Lite $99 per site per month, or $79 billed annually. Standard $199, or $167. Professional $299, or $250. All tiers state unlimited users and a 14-day free trial | The site offers sensor integrations, described as connecting with smart devices and temperature sensors to make monitoring faster. Monitoring tasks and prompted corrective actions are on the entry tier | Yes, from the Standard tier: "Create your HACCP Plan in 1 hour", customisable HACCP content and automatically created standard operating procedures. The Lite tier is monitoring only | "Instant overview of allergens" and a digital recipe book, from the Standard tier | Yes, on the Professional tier: simple traceability logging, a batch-based monitoring system integrated with traceability, a traceability app and detailed recall data | Unlimited downloads of records and documents on every tier, detailed tracking of task completion, and data export for deeper analysis on Professional |
| Kelsius FoodCheck 2.0 Wireless sensors plus Bluetooth probes with the HACCP records attached | Not published. The page routes to a free demo and gives UK and Irish sales numbers | Yes, and it is the core of the product: "Wireless sensors record data and transmit encrypted information to a local network controller... Probes transmit food temperatures via Bluetooth." 24/7 monitoring with deviation alerts, plus a temperature mapping service | Described as digital HACCP: the product is presented as replacing manual food safety tasks with automated reporting, managed from the Kelsius portal on any web-enabled device | Yes, a separate Allergen App is listed in the product range | Yes, traceability is listed as a product alongside shelf-life management | "Automated reporting for audits", a reporting suite and an AuditCheck product. A customer quoted on the page describes an EHO visit going well on the strength of the system |
| Checkit Industrial-grade automated temperature logging across many sites | Not published. The page routes to a personalised demo | Yes: temperature monitoring with industrial-grade sensors, covering food checks and automated fridge and freezer temperature logging. Checkit's sensors page lists pluggable RTD PT1000 and NTC thermistor probes, incubator and ambient transmitters, and door-contact dual monitors | Not described as a HACCP plan builder. The product is digitised checklists and workflows executed in native iOS and Android apps, with the emphasis on managing critical control points | Not stated on the pages we read | Not stated on the pages we read | "Reporting is simplified by providing one source of the truth", with single or multi-site reporting and audit-ready evidence captured automatically |
| Monika Continuous monitoring of cold storage and hot holding in one app | Not published. The site routes to contact and demo pages | Yes: continuous temperature monitoring of cold storage and hot holding equipment using sensors placed at critical points, with instant alerts, alongside manual temperature checks logged in the mobile app | Described as hygiene task management rather than a HACCP plan builder: scheduled routine tasks, reminders so nothing is missed, and checks completed while staff work | Yes, stated on this page: "Allergens can be easily identified for dishes and ingredients" | Not stated on this page | The page frames the problem as inadequate audit trails from paper checks and positions the app as the fix, with completed tasks and temperature records held centrally |
| Food Alert Software plus a consultancy that audits your premises | Not published. The site routes to enquiry forms | Yes: Bluetooth temperature checking, described as checking food storage temperatures wirelessly, alongside remote temperature checking | Yes: HACCP management is listed as a software module, and HACCP development, described as HACCP systems tailored to your business, is offered as a service alongside it | Yes: allergen and nutrition management in the software, plus menu checks and allergen guides as a service | Not stated on the software page | "A robust audit trail" plus customisable real-time reporting and analytics, and food safety and health and safety audits offered as services |
| Shield Safety RiskProof Hospitality groups that want environmental health practitioners on tap | Not published. The page routes to a demo booking | Not stated on the software page. The page describes digitised safety checks and records generally rather than temperature capture or probe integration | Described as covering "kitchen HACCP routines and allergen checks" alongside front-of-house and housekeeping tasks, with food processes built on HACCP principles kept up to date | Yes, allergen checks are named as part of the kitchen routines, and the company offers a safety advice line | Not stated on the software page | "Audit-Ready, Always", with dashboards giving risk status by location, division or brand, incident logging, and direct access to Environmental Health Practitioners for advice. The page states the software is Cyber Essentials Plus certified |
| Safefood 360 Manufacturers running supplier assurance and standards audits | Not published. The site routes to a demo request | Not described as a monitoring or probe product. This is a food safety management system for manufacturers, not a kitchen temperature logger | Yes, and at a different scale: a dedicated HACCP module and a HACCP, PCP and food safety plans module among more than 35 pre-set modules | Not listed as a named module on the modules page we read | Yes, traceability is a named module, alongside supplier management and a supplier portal | Auditing and Audit Management 360 are named modules, and the supplier describes the result as "a fast, secure, and audit-ready working environment" |
How we chose, ordered and checked these
Every product here is aimed at UK food businesses and was included only because we could open and read the supplier's own page on 15 August 2026. Each row's source link is the page that carried the most load for that supplier: the pricing page where one exists, otherwise the product page that describes the food safety capability. Where a fact came from a different page on the same supplier's site, the cell says which page.
The order is by what a buyer can verify before speaking to anyone. Suppliers that publish a price come first, cheapest published figure first, then suppliers that publish no price, grouped so that sensor-led monitoring products sit together and the manufacturing-scale system sits last. That ordering is the argument of this page, so there is no default sort applied to the table.
Two of the eight publish a price at all, and that is itself the finding. Trail publishes per-site monthly pricing in pounds. FoodDocs publishes per-site monthly pricing in US dollars. The other six route you to a demo or a sales conversation. None of the eight publishes a per-user price, and none publishes hardware costs: on the sensor-led products the sensors, gateways and installation are a separate line nobody quotes on the web.
What was left out and why. Navitas Safety, Kitchen CUT and Food Safe System are all sold into this market, and none of their sites would answer our checks on 15 August 2026: Kitchen CUT returned a 403 to every request and the other two did not respond at all. We do not publish a row we cannot read at source, so they are absent. General-purpose checklist and inspection apps that are not food-specific, such as SafetyCulture, Jolt and Lumiform, were excluded deliberately: they can carry a food safety checklist, but they are not sold as HACCP systems and comparing them here would flatter both sides.
What this table does not tell you. It carries no scores, no ratings, no review counts and no test results, because we have not run these products in a kitchen. It does not tell you whether a supplier's HACCP content suits your process, which is the thing an environmental health officer will actually look at. And it does not price the hardware: on any sensor-based product, ask for the cost per monitored unit, the gateway and the installation before you compare a software subscription with anything. We take no commission from any supplier on this page and carry no paid placements.
- Trail trailapp.com pricing
- FoodDocs fooddocs.com pricing
- Kelsius FoodCheck 2.0 kelsius.com FoodCheck 2.0
- Checkit checkit.net food safety
- Monika monika.com food safety applications
- Food Alert foodalert.com software
- Shield Safety RiskProof shieldsafety.co.uk software
- Safefood 360 safefood360.com modules
HACCP Software Compare is an independent site operated by Ellul Solutions Ltd. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Food Standards Agency, Food Standards Scotland, any local authority or any software supplier named here, and nothing on it is legal advice. We take no commission from any supplier in this comparison and carry no paid placements. Supplier prices and features change without notice: every cell carries the page and the date it came from, and you should confirm the current position with the supplier before buying.
What UK food safety software suppliers publish about price
Last updated
Price is the thing this market is least willing to put on a web page. This table records, for each supplier, whether a price exists on the site, what unit it is charged in, and what the lowest published figure was on the day we looked.
Each row was taken from the supplier's own website on 15 August 2026, from the page named in the last column, using a normal browser request. Where a supplier publishes no price we record that rather than estimating one, and where a page routes to a demo or a quote we say so. Nothing in this table is a rating and none of it is a quote you can rely on: published prices exclude VAT unless the supplier says otherwise, exclude hardware on the sensor-based products, and change without notice.
| Product | Pricing unit | Lowest published figure | Page we read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trail | Per site, per month | £38 monthly, or £32 billed yearly, on the Team plan | trailapp.com/pricing |
| FoodDocs | Per site, per month, unlimited users | $99 monthly, or $79 billed annually, on the Lite plan | fooddocs.com/pricing |
| Kelsius FoodCheck 2.0 | Not published | None. Free demo, plus UK and Irish sales numbers | kelsius.com/foodcheck-2 |
| Checkit | Not published | None. Routes to a personalised demo | checkit.net/solutions/food-safety |
| Monika | Not published | None. Routes to contact and demo pages | monika.com/food-safety-applications |
| Food Alert | Not published | None. Routes to enquiry forms | foodalert.com/software |
| Shield Safety RiskProof | Not published | None. Routes to a demo booking | shieldsafety.co.uk/software |
| Safefood 360 | Not published | None. Routes to a demo request | safefood360.com/modules |
- Of eight UK food safety and HACCP software products checked on 15 August 2026, two publish a price on their own website and six route the buyer to a demo or a quote.
- Both published prices are charged per site per month, not per user: Trail from £38 a month per site, or £32 billed yearly, and FoodDocs from $99 a month per site, or $79 billed annually, with unlimited users stated.
- None of the eight publishes the cost of sensors, gateways or installation, which on a sensor-based system is a separate purchase from the software subscription.
- Three of the eight lead with wireless sensor monitoring rather than checklists: Kelsius FoodCheck 2.0, Checkit and Monika, all of which describe continuous temperature monitoring with alerting.
- Only FoodDocs and Safefood 360 describe building a HACCP plan inside the product; the rest describe running checks and records against a plan you already have.
- Traceability is the least common capability in this set: FoodDocs at its Professional tier, Kelsius and Safefood 360 name it, and the other five do not on the pages we read.
Cite this page
“What UK food safety software suppliers publish about price”, HACCP Software Compare, https://haccpsoftware.co.uk/ (updated 2026-08-15). Each row was taken from the supplier's own website on 15 August 2026, from the page named in the last column, using a normal browser request. Where a supplier publishes no price we record that rather than estimating one, and where a page routes to a demo or a quote we say so. Nothing in this table is a rating and none of it is a quote you can rely on: published prices exclude VAT unless the supplier says otherwise, exclude hardware on the sensor-based products, and change without notice.
Choosing or replacing a food safety system?
Tell us the shape of your operation and we'll introduce you to a food safety software supplier or consultant who works with businesses like yours.
Frequently asked
Which UK food safety software publishes a price?
Of the eight products we checked on 15 August 2026, two: Trail, from £38 per site per month or £32 billed yearly, and FoodDocs, from $99 per site per month or $79 billed annually. The other six, Kelsius FoodCheck 2.0, Checkit, Monika, Food Alert, Shield Safety RiskProof and Safefood 360, route the buyer to a demo or a quote.
Is HACCP software a legal requirement?
No. The legal requirement, under retained Regulation (EC) 852/2004, is a permanent procedure based on HACCP principles, with monitoring at critical control points and records commensurate with the nature and size of the business. Paper satisfies that. Software changes the labour, the completeness of the record and how quickly you can produce it, not the duty.
Which products integrate with temperature probes and sensors?
Kelsius FoodCheck 2.0 states that wireless sensors transmit encrypted data to a local network controller and that probes transmit food temperatures via Bluetooth. Checkit describes industrial-grade sensors automating fridge and freezer logging, with RTD and thermistor probes listed on its sensors page. Monika describes continuous monitoring of cold storage and hot holding using sensors at critical points. Food Alert describes Bluetooth temperature checking, FoodDocs offers sensor integrations, and Trail's integrations page describes automatic fridge and freezer logging from labl.it in-situ sensors.
Does this software cover allergens and Natasha's Law?
FoodDocs, Kelsius, Monika, Food Alert and Shield Safety all state that they handle allergens on the pages we read; Trail, Checkit and Safefood 360 do not mention it on those pages. Whichever you choose, the duty stays with the business: FSA guidance requires the 14 listed allergens to be declared, and food prepacked for direct sale to carry a full ingredients list with allergens emphasised.
What should I ask about hardware costs?
None of the eight suppliers publishes hardware pricing. Ask for the cost per monitored unit, how many gateways or controllers a site needs, whether installation is included, how often calibration is required and what it costs after the first year, and what happens when a sensor fails outside warranty.
Will an environmental health officer accept digital records?
There is nothing in the hygiene regulations requiring paper, and the FSA states that a Safer Food, Better Business diary can be kept electronically or as printed copies. The practical test is whether you can produce the records on request. Ask any supplier what the export looks like and whether an officer can read it without being given a login.
Why are some well-known suppliers missing from this comparison?
Because we could not read their sites on 15 August 2026. Navitas Safety, Kitchen CUT and Food Safe System are all sold into this market; Kitchen CUT returned a 403 to every request and the other two did not respond. We do not publish a row we cannot source. General checklist and inspection apps that are not food-specific were excluded deliberately.
Sources
- Regulation (EC) No 852/2004, Article 5 (HACCP and records), as retained
- gov.uk, food safety management systems for businesses
- gov.uk, food hygiene for businesses: chilling and freezing
- Food Safety and Hygiene (England) Regulations 2013, Schedule 4
- Food Standards Agency, allergen guidance for food businesses
- Food Standards Agency, Safer Food, Better Business
- Trail, pricing (checked 15 August 2026)
- Trail, integrations (labl.it sensor logging)
- Trail, use cases (temperature log sheets)
- FoodDocs, pricing (checked 15 August 2026)
- Kelsius, FoodCheck 2.0
- Checkit, food safety solution
- Checkit, sensors
- Monika, food safety applications
- Food Alert, software
- Shield Safety, RiskProof software
- Safefood 360, modules
Start from what suppliers actually publish
Eight products, six criteria, every cell traceable to the page it came from and the date we read it.